[Book Review] Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

Tessa Gray should be happy-aren’t all brides happy? Yet as she prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to Mortmain, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters. Mortmain needs only one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. And Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her.

Rating: One out of five stars

I skipped doing a review for Clockwork Prince, as it was practically the same as my review for Clockwork Angel, which you can read here.

To start off with, I cannot say how many times I wanted to slam this book down over and over again. It infuriated me. I was repulsed. It was horrifying.

I don’t give many books one out of five stars but I’m so angry that I’m doing it right now. You don’t know how much I want to grab Tessa Gray and slap her while shaking her viciously back and forth. Is she stupid? No, apparently she’s not meant to be. Is she supposed to have a conscience? Yes, she is supposed to. Yet why, why, do I utterly hate her so much in this book?

One of the great dramas in the whole Infernal Devices series is the love triangle between Tessa, Will and Jem. In the Clockwork Prince, after much consideration [SPOILER] Tessa somehow manages to pick Jem and they are engaged, which continues onto the third book.  I was pleasantly surprised and pleased by this, I was glad it was over with and that Tessa managed it. BUT after reading the Clockwork Princess, my short lived good impression of her was shattered.

[SPOILER] Jem dies. Or at least, Tessa thinks he does. And while she is trapped in a room with Will, thinking Jem’s dead and realising she’ll die tomorrow, she requests Will for a kiss. Which leads to sex. Which lead to me jumping up and yelling,’ WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH YOU, YOUR FIANCE JUST DIED AND YOU’RE HAVING SEX WITH HIS PARABATAI?!’ I was furious. And it was made worse by what happened after. Okay, so then Tessa realises Jem isn’t dead, but she stays with Will anyways when Jem says it’s okay, and then after she’s married Will, they’ve had children and he’s died, she goes back to Jem and they kiss.

HDBJHDBJHDHNCVVGAYGVTALYGVAYRGALRGAYL.

DOES SHE HAVE NO CONSCIENCE?

Putting that ridiculous matter aside, the rest of the book was a bit disappointing as well. I felt that the ending, the finale was rather a little bit weak and that most of the book was just composed of talking and long speeches and letters. I enjoyed reading about the other pairings though, and the plot itself was pretty good, if only we could extract Tessa’s romantic actions and personal thoughts.

So yeah, really disappointed at this book. I was going to start City of Bones but on a friend’s advice that Clary is even worse than Tessa Gray, have decided not to. Hope you guys find the book better than I did.

 

About everburningcinders

So so...where to start? Well, for starters, I can say that I'm one of those kinds of people that don't care about their hair, or desperately need another pair of shoes. In fact, if you see me, you wouldn't notice me at all. I'm just the shadow, sticking to the walls, head buried in a book or eyes glazed over in a daydream. I want to be listened to and I want to be appreciated. My moral in life: Life is life. Believe in it and suck it up. I look forward to meetin' ya all!
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please let me know what you think ;)

