[Book review] Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Genres: Young adult, Dystopia, Romance
Rating: Two out of five stars

I’ve heard a lot about Delirium and finally decided to pick it up after it becoming stale on my reading list. But honestly, I thought it was a waste of my time. To be more specific, the book wasn’t actually that bad, the plotline was pretty engaging, the aspect of love being treated as a disease was pretty fresh (but kind of unlikely to actually happen in the future) and allowed Lauren Oliver to explore than depth and consequences of human emotions. I thought the main characters were done okay (except at times I was annoyed by Lena’s constant paranoia). But I was just tired.

I mean, everything was pretty predictable. After reading so many other dystopian books lately, such as Matched, Ugly and Under the Never Sky, I was just so tired of the same thing going on over and over again. It was sheltered-girl-gets-lured-out-by-outsider-boy-falls-for-him-then-realises-how-screwed-up-her-society-is all over again. I was just so sick of it.

It’s what make other dystopian books (even though they might not be so great) stand out for me, like Divergent or The Knife of Never Letting Go, because they don’t follow this stereotyped pattern that so many other dystopian books have fallen into. I must say, if I haven’t had any of these other books to compare Delirium to, my rating probably wouldn’t been bumped up to three stars. (And yes, I’m finally rating my books now. Be happy for me.)

I don’t really have much left to say. I would recommend Delirium to a new Dystopian reader who’s looking for the usual romance, action and drama all rolled into one fast read, but not to people who have already read so many other books of the genre; this book will just be like all the others. Don’t waste your time.

If you disagree, feel free to comment why, if you just want to rage along, feel free to comment too. Hope you’re having a good weeks guys! 😀

About everburningcinders

So so...where to start? Well, for starters, I can say that I'm one of those kinds of people that don't care about their hair, or desperately need another pair of shoes. In fact, if you see me, you wouldn't notice me at all. I'm just the shadow, sticking to the walls, head buried in a book or eyes glazed over in a daydream. I want to be listened to and I want to be appreciated. My moral in life: Life is life. Believe in it and suck it up. I look forward to meetin' ya all!
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Discussions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please let me know what you think ;)

