My Mountains Are Answering-Picture it and Write

 

Forever in Your Footprints-Picutre it and Write

My contribution this week for Picture it and Write, I’ve missed a few that I’m not happy about but hope to get back on track soon. Happy reading!

 

My Mountains Are Answering

How come,
how come?
no matter how hard I try,
how hard I try?
I am forever in Your Footprints.
The echo around me mocks me,
mocks me?
I will never make my Own.
Frustration sizzles hot as I trail behind,
trail behind?
Like a dumb and mute mongrel.
Mute mongrel?
So the mountains are answering me, I see,
answering me, I see?
So what do you have to say, you steady fast witness?!
Witness, witness, witness?
Witness to my pathetic lemming! Witness to my lack of initiative!
Initiative, initiative, initiative?
You see me as a broken man now, too weak to take a step by myself.
Step by myself, step by myself, step by myself
I dare you to be my witness then! One day, I will be strong enough to leave to go!
GO, GO, GO
But for now, I will stay in Your Footprints.
Your Footprints, Your Footprints, Your Footprints
Use them and study to them so I can make my Own.
My Own, my Own, my Own.
Own.

About everburningcinders

So so...where to start? Well, for starters, I can say that I'm one of those kinds of people that don't care about their hair, or desperately need another pair of shoes. In fact, if you see me, you wouldn't notice me at all. I'm just the shadow, sticking to the walls, head buried in a book or eyes glazed over in a daydream. I want to be listened to and I want to be appreciated. My moral in life: Life is life. Believe in it and suck it up. I look forward to meetin' ya all!
Image | This entry was posted in Picture it and Write, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Mountains Are Answering-Picture it and Write

  1. Anne Schilde says:

    I really like the way this part read in the middle: “…witness?! Witness, witness, witness? Witness to my pathetic lemming!” Like the voice was raising and the echo got louder.

  2. Ermilia says:

    An interesting use of punctuation and the italics. I like how there was always the presence of a ‘second voice’ or something close to it. The poem starts with it being rather hesitant, there are plenty of question marks as if it doubts what has just been said. And then the poem ends with quite a determined cheer. Thanks for contributing this week to Picture it & write! 🙂

    – Ermisenda

  3. Thomas says:

    Love the use of parallelism, repetition, and italics! It fits well with the image and shows the depth of your creativity. Great work!

Please let me know what you think ;)

