Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Magic is dangerous-but love is more dangerous still.

When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray arrives in England during the reign of Queen Victoria, something terrifying is waiting for her in London’s Downworld, where vampires, warlocks, and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Friendless and hunted, Tessa seeks refuge with the Shadowhunters, a band of warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons. Drawn ever deeper into their world, she finds herself fascinated by-and torn between-two best friends and quickly realises that love may be the most dangerous magic of all.

This was not the easiest novel to start. After reading the blurb, it took several prods from a friend to actually get started. I mean, Magic is dangerous-but love is more dangerous still? Really? This single line almost blew me off from even opening up the book. But I did anyways.

Clockwork Angel isn’t an exactly amazing book. This is the first time I’ve read one of Cassandra Clare’s works so I can’t judge it based on its companions. It was, overall a pretty good read (even with the whole usual powerful-brave-heroine-who-doesn’t-know-she’s-powerful-and-brave-and-gets-trapped-in-a-love-triangle kind of thing). After I finished it though, the book didn’t fire up any particular feelings, which was pretty rare. It wasn’t absolutely terrible, yet it wasn’t amazing. It was moderately engaging, the story scraped by just enough for me to keep on reading and there were small quirks that lifted my opinion from ‘okay’ to ‘good’.

The time setting was pretty cool, while the twists and big shockers were done moderately well. Character developments were done okay, relationships were done okay, everything was pretty okay. Not astounding but pretty okay. I would recommend this book for anyone looking for an easy typically YA read but wouldn’t recommend it to anyone looking for something deeper than that.

I had to admit though, there was one thing I was miffed about, at the very beginning. I knew Tessa was alone and she was desperate, but did that really call for her to jump into a carriage with two strange women and just a note? Her later actions in the book implied that she was smart, witty and cautious but this rash decision definitely didn’t concur with that. Just saying. Just saying.

Anyways, I was-I am-a bit distracted with writing this post. I’m writing it at the same time while watching Elementary, my newest TV show. It’s been a busy term but I have one more week of school before it’s holidays and  can finally relax. Hope you guys are well as always!

About everburningcinders

So so...where to start? Well, for starters, I can say that I'm one of those kinds of people that don't care about their hair, or desperately need another pair of shoes. In fact, if you see me, you wouldn't notice me at all. I'm just the shadow, sticking to the walls, head buried in a book or eyes glazed over in a daydream. I want to be listened to and I want to be appreciated. My moral in life: Life is life. Believe in it and suck it up. I look forward to meetin' ya all!
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please let me know what you think ;)

