Looking Down or Looking at Me?

Hey guys!

I’ve recently been developing a strange self consciousness over my height and I’m blogging it as a way to try and get over it. I’m not exactly sure when it started. I’ve always been a small person, and I’ve always hoped all the taller kids in the grades below me are still giving me the same amount of respect that they give the other upperclassmen.

However, when I picked a girl in the year above me who I am taller than, I asked myself do I really respect her as I do other people? And I was both ashamed and disappointed in my honest answer. So now, whenever I pass someone younger than me, but taller, I always ask in my mind, do you really see me as mature? Do you really think of me with respect? Do you not look down on me? (Oh my gosh. That was a REALLY bad pun.)

I’ve heard it so many times that the person inside is more important. And it’s true. But the unfortunate thing is, it’s so hard to move past that physical façade, we just take in features unconsciously and make decisions about people based on them. Yeah, well, in the end, I still don’t want people judging or looking down (there it is again) on me of just my height. But I stop my angsty raving and rants for a second. There is a simple solution. It’s been there all the time.

Shine so brightly that they forget whether I’m small or not, tall or not. After all, your family and true friends will never take these things into their check book of criteria for Fantastic Person. I hope.

So ending on that encouraging note, how are you guys? Lately I’ve been listening to some old music from my childhood again, I’ve posted two examples below for you to check out. Planning to do a couple of book reviews also soon-look forward to them!

 

About everburningcinders

So so...where to start? Well, for starters, I can say that I'm one of those kinds of people that don't care about their hair, or desperately need another pair of shoes. In fact, if you see me, you wouldn't notice me at all. I'm just the shadow, sticking to the walls, head buried in a book or eyes glazed over in a daydream. I want to be listened to and I want to be appreciated. My moral in life: Life is life. Believe in it and suck it up. I look forward to meetin' ya all!
This entry was posted in Discussions, Music, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please let me know what you think ;)

