‘I’, the ever Selfish

It’s been a while since I’ve started this blog, hasn’t it? Today, I realise with a shock that you readers know almost nothing about me except for the meagre post in the beginning where I introduced myself. I lie actually. I’ve known this for a while now. The problem is, I’m not good with sharing. But then, how does one connect another’s marvellations with another until one gets to know another? So on this train of thought, I’ve decided to make the aim of this blog, while exploring literature, also become my aim of getting past the wall, to share my frustrations, rants and joys. And also, my growth.

So, to start us off, I will make a confession.

I’m selfish. I am a terribly selfish person. I am very accustomed with starting sentences with ‘I’. I try not to (there I go saying it again) but it just comes out so many times. So, so many times. Once when talking to a friend, I counted in my head the number of times I said something concerning myself. Needless to say, I was quite disgusted. So how to become not selfish? If I stop saying ‘I’ but say more ‘You’s, would that be curing my selfishness? Or would it fuel to it, since I would only be doing it to stop considering myself selfish, which would account the action only for me, labelling it selfish too? Is giving selfish? Is it possible?

I’m scared people will one day see right through me and truly see how selfish I am. Invent robot eyes which can see everything. After learning this side of me, people will back away. If we all learn about this side to one and another, we will all back away. Out of fear, out of shock, out of disbelief. People are selfish. This is a fact. It’s almost (actually it’s not almost, it is) scary, if we imagine that everyone think about themselves, judge and stab as much as we do.

So is that it? Humanity; a selfish race? Will we ever not be selfish? I like to think so. I like to think that one day, we will love someone so fiercely, it will no longer be about us anymore. It will all be about them. And it will be truly, truly wonderful.

Definition of selfish-(of a person, action, or motive) Lacking consideration for others; concerned chiefly with one’s own personal profit or pleasure.

About everburningcinders

So so...where to start? Well, for starters, I can say that I'm one of those kinds of people that don't care about their hair, or desperately need another pair of shoes. In fact, if you see me, you wouldn't notice me at all. I'm just the shadow, sticking to the walls, head buried in a book or eyes glazed over in a daydream. I want to be listened to and I want to be appreciated. My moral in life: Life is life. Believe in it and suck it up. I look forward to meetin' ya all!
This entry was posted in Discussions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please let me know what you think ;)

