The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

I can’t remember the last time I have posted a book review. I am terribly sorry. It’s not that I haven’t read any books, I’ve just been extremely busy and well…the rest is history. But bear with me please! ๐Ÿ™‚

‘My thoughts are stars that I cannot fathom into constellations.’

-Augustus ‘Gus’ Water, Pg. 311 (An amazing, beautiful and really overused quote. It is understandable why.)

Wow. What an amazing book. It egged me to keep on reading until the early hours of the morning. The book is indeed a bundled pack of bottled stars, (inside joke if you’ve read the book, which you WILL if you haven’t already) and John Green develops and utterly owns his characters so well, they are like real people. Which they are, in my reality.

Hazel Grace is a highly likeable character. I loved her wit, I loved her observations, I loved her determination as a cancer kid. There were a couple of things that bugged me though,ย  such as her constant reference to dying and her cancer, how she let it become her. But I am alive. I am healthy. I imagine if I had cancer, I would be even more bitter than she is. John Green makes this a point as well. For once, I truly saw what it was like to be a cancer kid. It’s not the kind of heroic fighting people have romanticised, it’s bitter, cruel and hard.

Alas, the book is not only about cancer! I found Hazel and Gus’ relationship incredibly sweet, it led the story from the moonings of hardship and getting up every morning to something more, it gave Hazel’s life another meaning, to be frank. The relationship made the book not only about cancer but about trust, love and survival.

The book contains so many great quotes and ideas. It touches on so many little things, it’s not afraid to go far and reveal what truly becomes of people. The Fault In Our Stars is straightforward. And I respect that.

‘Even cancer isn’t a bad guy really: Cancer just wants to be alive.’

-Hazel, Pg. 246. Another one of my favourite quotes.

So, I give the full credit to John Green who made me stay up to 2AM, crying and laughing at the same time. My parents thought I had gone loony. ๐Ÿ™‚

About everburningcinders

So so...where to start? Well, for starters, I can say that I'm one of those kinds of people that don't care about their hair, or desperately need another pair of shoes. In fact, if you see me, you wouldn't notice me at all. I'm just the shadow, sticking to the walls, head buried in a book or eyes glazed over in a daydream. I want to be listened to and I want to be appreciated. My moral in life: Life is life. Believe in it and suck it up. I look forward to meetin' ya all!
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Quote and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please let me know what you think ;)

