Blind Love

Hey guys! I’ve taken a break from all of my essays (Ah, to know the sweet writings of fiction again!) to write this little story just for fun. I didn’t really put that much editing time into it, it was mostly done just to relieve some pressure and let off some steam. Hope you enjoy it! 🙂

Blind Love

I peek out of my window. A light shines out from next door. Good. She’s still up.

Okay, Brian, you can do it. No big deal. This isn’t like jumping from the classroom window into the school pool like Timmy did. That was stupid. You can do better than that. Okay. Okay. You got this.

I reach over for the piece of string and briskly snap the blinds shut. Open. Repeat. Wait for one second. Shut. Open. Hi.

I duck down as soon as I finish. Good. I did it perfectly. I slowly rise up again. The light from next door shines. Unmoving. No response. I try not to let it get to me. Try to ignore my disappointment. Get a grip, I tell myself. It was never going to work anyways. She’s never going to notice. Seriously. Bianca Waterman is never going to know I exist, let alone I live next to her. Slumping back into my seat, I miss a weak flickering from next door.

The next day at school, I keep my head low. Questions start going around in my head. What if she did see it? What if she knows what it means? What if she tells her friends and by the time I get to school, everybody will know I’m a Morse-code obsessed, stalker freak? I punch myself. Mentally, of course. Get a grip, bro. Everything is normal. I stop outside of my locker to take out my books. Someone taps my shoulder and I turn around. My mouth goes dry.

‘Hi, Bianca.’

The girl in front of me smiles, her eyes ever so green. ‘Hey! I saw you walking home the other day, not that I was stalking you or anything, but I noticed that I like, live right next to you!’ Her grin grows broader as she waits for my reaction. That’s right. I’m not meant to know. I force my expression into one of surprise.

‘Seriously? Cool!’

‘I know, right?’ An awkward pause. ‘So…I’ll see you later?’

I nod and she walks away. It doesn’t mean anything, I tell myself. So what if she finally knows you live next to her? That’s probably all that she’s gonna know about you. The nerd that lives next door. I slam my locker close and walk to class. Our teacher, Mr Pilberal, looks up as I walk in.

‘Ah, Brian McLily. You finally decide to grace us with your presence. Hurry up and take a seat.’ A few kids snicker and I quickly sit down. Bianca smiles at me from across the classroom. I smile back.

‘So class, today, we’re going to be learning about a form of communication, hundreds of years old. Both innovative and creative, I present to you…the Morse code!’ Everyone groans and I stiffen. My eyes dart to Bianca. She’s chatting to one of her friends and doesn’t seem to be paying attention. However, I’m still not reassured. I’m edgy throughout the whole lesson and as soon as the bell goes, I bolt out of my chair. But I’m not quick enough. I pass Bianca on my way out and she slips a piece of paper into my hand. I look at her, eyes wide.

‘Read it at home,’ she whispers. Then she walks away. I don’t need any encouragement. I practically sprint back home. In my room, I tear the note open. It contains 5 words;

Look out your window tonight.

At dinner, I keep fumbling with the peas. Mum keeps asking me what’s wrong but I can’t say anything except keep grinning like a maniac. After dinner, I run back up to my room and wait. And wait. Nothing’s happening. After waiting for another hour, I start to feel like an idiot. Then I feel angry. Was she playing with me? Was this somehow her idea of a joke? I am so busy fuming that I nearly miss a flicker on the other side. I jump to my window, in a panic. Nothing happens. Was it just my imagination? There! There it is again! Grabbing my notepad, I quickly jot down the sequence. The message becomes clear.

Hi Brian!

A smile blossoms on my face. She’s talking to me. I can’t believe it. I turn back to my window and quickly flash a response.

Hey, Bianca.

There’s a slightly long pause. Then she responds.

This is so cool!

I know, right?

Let’s do this tomorrow.

Yeah.

I need to go now. Sorry. Goodnight!

Goodnight.

Her light goes out. I slump into my chair, dumbfounded. Thrilled. Even though she said about three sentences, I can feel adrenaline rushing through my veins. I wonder for the first time in my twelve year existence, is this what love feels like? From then onwards, Bianca and I would exchange little words. Mostly they were just How are yous and Goodnights but I didn’t mind at all. I had something more important to ask though. There’s a really big dance held every year in my school. It’s like, the biggest social event of the year. All the girls make a fuss about it. I didn’t go last year. Didn’t feel like there was a need to. But this year is different. Tonight, I will ask Bianca Waterman to the dance. Her light turns on and she begins her usual sequence of flashes. I pop the question out of nowhere. The tactic is to surprise her, to make her so shocked that she accidently says yes. I reckon that this is the only way she would agree to go with a dork like me.

Will you go to the dance with me?

No response. Her light suddenly goes out. I wait for another fifteen minutes staring intensely at the window before accepting reality. I had blown it. A week of careful planning was blasted. Into smithereens. Forget about smithereens. More like millions of tiny molecules that float around and then get sucked into the nostrils of the big smelly guy that comes to pick up your garbage. The doorbell rings. I don’t really care.

‘Brian, it’s for you!’ Mum yells and I slowly get up. Before I can even slouch down all the stairs, something rockets up and hits me with full force. I spot a flash of green and next, all I can see are dark brown curls. Through all of the laughter and hugs, I can make out one word, gloriously repeated.

‘Yes.’

About everburningcinders

So so...where to start? Well, for starters, I can say that I'm one of those kinds of people that don't care about their hair, or desperately need another pair of shoes. In fact, if you see me, you wouldn't notice me at all. I'm just the shadow, sticking to the walls, head buried in a book or eyes glazed over in a daydream. I want to be listened to and I want to be appreciated. My moral in life: Life is life. Believe in it and suck it up. I look forward to meetin' ya all!
This entry was posted in Random, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please let me know what you think ;)

