Quintana of Charyn by Melina Marchetta

quintana[1]

So, since I’ve already done reviews for Finnikin of the Rock and Froi of the Exiles and now that I’ve read Quintana of Charyn, I might as well review it as well to finish the trilogy. So. Quintana of Charyn. By Melina Marchetta. Third book in the Lumatere Chronicles. Amazing. Spectacular. Brilliant. Nothing much else to say, is there? I mean, how can all of my feelings for this book be summarised in one measly book review?

Throughout the book I just kept on thinking, ‘This is it. This is it. Melina Marchetta can’t possibly have any more twists, any more secrets, any more tricks.’ Again and again, I was spectacularly mistaken. Reading Quintana of Charyn as the end of the Lumatere chronicles was a bit like reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, except much longer. Melina Marchetta has tied everything up with a grand flourish and the reader cannot be but in…what can I say, awe.

So, Quintana of Charyn. Written by Melina Marchetta, ending book of a brilliant trilogy. For all of you devoted readers closely following the chronicles, you will not be disappointed by this book. I know it’s a rather vague review, but right now I cannot even think of anything else I can possibly say. Perhaps later, I will edit this post of my embarrassing capability to accurately describe the plot and add some more details in. On a side note, reading the first page, there was a list of companion books in the series.

Finnikin of the Rock-Yup, read that.
Froi of the Exiles-Yup, read that.
Ferragost-…What?

Doing a bit more research, I found out that it was a little extra side story, following one of the side characters, Celie, and her little adventures. Turns out she contributed a lot more to the plot than I had imagined. Huh. Seems like I’ve got one more read before I can officially declare that I have finished the series. Happy reading! 🙂

About everburningcinders

So so...where to start? Well, for starters, I can say that I'm one of those kinds of people that don't care about their hair, or desperately need another pair of shoes. In fact, if you see me, you wouldn't notice me at all. I'm just the shadow, sticking to the walls, head buried in a book or eyes glazed over in a daydream. I want to be listened to and I want to be appreciated. My moral in life: Life is life. Believe in it and suck it up. I look forward to meetin' ya all!
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please let me know what you think ;)

