Lonely

Lonely

I’ve always wanted to go to the moon.
Look up at the stars,
So far away.
It’s always been something to wish for,
Something to hold onto.
A dream.
Yet when I imagine
What happens when I get there,
Fathomless.
Empty.
Alone.
It’s not what I imagined.
Yet what did I imagine?
Did I expect anything at all?
Was it just something to say,
Something to show I had some purpose,
Some goal?
I am lonely.
I want to go to the moon.
I want to go to the moon.

*My first ever time doing something for Picture it and Write! Squee, so excited!

About everburningcinders

So so...where to start? Well, for starters, I can say that I'm one of those kinds of people that don't care about their hair, or desperately need another pair of shoes. In fact, if you see me, you wouldn't notice me at all. I'm just the shadow, sticking to the walls, head buried in a book or eyes glazed over in a daydream. I want to be listened to and I want to be appreciated. My moral in life: Life is life. Believe in it and suck it up. I look forward to meetin' ya all!
Image | This entry was posted in Picture it and Write, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Lonely

  1. Marisa says:

    Lovely first contribution! Hope to see you participate again πŸ™‚

  2. samiisabelle says:

    Very nice~! The “Yet when I imagine/What happens when I get there,/Fathomless./Empty./Alone./It’s not what I imagined.” is my favorite part. Great work and thank you for sharing! πŸ™‚

  3. The Real Cie says:

    I can relate to what you’re saying. I’m also one of those folks that nobody would take a second look at. They don’t know what they’re missing. πŸ˜‰

  4. The Real Cie says:

    Reblogged this on The Cheese Whines and commented:
    An excellent poem.

  5. Ermilia says:

    I’m glad you joined us! Your excitement matches our own. It’s great fun to write and read the Picture it & write contributions. I really liked how you questioned that ambition about going to the moon ‘Was it just something to say,/Something to show I had some purpose,/Some goal?’ While the moon is beautiful, I think it would be dreadfully boring compared to our planet earth. Great food for thought! Thanks for contributing this week, everburningcinders. I hope to see you contribute again soon. πŸ™‚

    – Ermisenda

  6. neenslewy says:

    Ooohhhh – wow! Haunting poetry, especially your repetition of the endline.
    The Picture It and Write challenge is good fun – I have only managed a few, hope you try it again.

  7. Anne Schilde says:

    Sometimes when I feel lonely, it feels like I am on the moon. I did a story a while back personifying Curiosity, and it made me horribly depressed just thinking about how isolated you would feel so far from Earth. Welcome to PI&W!

  8. Welcome and thank you for your take on the prompt. A lost soul wanting purpose and then having it their grasp..did it give them the happiness they needed? I love the way you said ‘Squee’ too, my daughters say it all the time πŸ™‚

Please let me know what you think ;)

