Walking on Life Street

Walking on Life Street

The inspiration for this poem hit me when I was taking a stroll the other day. Hope you like it! A little note: The picture above was taken by myself and the two people in it have granted permission for it to be on this blog.

Walking on Life Street

Walking on Life Street,
Oh, how glorious the first step is.
Pedalling on a bicycle, you quickly burst your way forward,
no worries or responsibility.
A few houses later,
you abandon the bike.
The saplings on the sides of the streets
grow into young trees.
You encounter your first crack.
You step over your first crack.
You will find many more.
You will even ecounter huge gaping holes.
 But you step over them.
It may take time but
you step over them.
Continue on your walk.
The sun shines brighter.
Trees blossom and thrive around you.
Birds fly on above,
Cars come and pass.
Someone joins you,
on your walk.
They stay by your side until you reach the end of the road.
Trees start to wither.
The peak of the sun has died down
to a soft glow.
Holding hands with your companion,
you smile back at the street
before taking a big step

off to another road.
Walking on Life Sreet.
How glorious the last step is.

About everburningcinders

So so...where to start? Well, for starters, I can say that I'm one of those kinds of people that don't care about their hair, or desperately need another pair of shoes. In fact, if you see me, you wouldn't notice me at all. I'm just the shadow, sticking to the walls, head buried in a book or eyes glazed over in a daydream. I want to be listened to and I want to be appreciated. My moral in life: Life is life. Believe in it and suck it up. I look forward to meetin' ya all!
Image | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please let me know what you think ;)

