Froi of the Exiles

9780670076086[1]

I was lucky enough to get my hands on the second book of the Lumatere Chronicles, the sequel of Finnikin to the Rock. I admit it, this is a stunning, stunning sequel. Most sequels of books are overshadowed by the first book, maybe because it’s the same style of writing and the overall feeling of the book is pretty much similar to the first book. But for Froi of the Exiles, Melina Marchetta has decided to narrate throught the eyes of an unlikely character; the worthless thief that was picked up in book one.

She has managed to throw him onto an incredible journey and describes his character and states of mind so fluently, you can’t help but feel that you’re being sucked in. Melina has dived deep into, not a perfect love story, but the messy relationship between a half mad princess and Froi. Most authors shield away from these types of relationships, there are too many psychological factors and flickering states of mind; overall it is too hard to describe these types of relationships. However, she has crafted a brilliant story out of this mess of feelings and created something beautiful and worth reading.

Froi of the Exiles is an amazing sequel of Finnikin of the Rock, it may not be even considered as a sequel but as its own unique story, of just as much value as Finnikin of the Rock. I recommend for all dedicated readers to read this masterpiece.

About everburningcinders

So so...where to start? Well, for starters, I can say that I'm one of those kinds of people that don't care about their hair, or desperately need another pair of shoes. In fact, if you see me, you wouldn't notice me at all. I'm just the shadow, sticking to the walls, head buried in a book or eyes glazed over in a daydream. I want to be listened to and I want to be appreciated. My moral in life: Life is life. Believe in it and suck it up. I look forward to meetin' ya all!
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please let me know what you think ;)

