Touching a Book and Remembering

Touching A Book

I love books. I love holding them, I love touching them, I love smelling them (yes, my secret is revealed!) I love everything about a book. Are they not beautiful? Yet why are people slowly discarding them? Nowadays, some people prefer their kindle or e-reader over a real book. They are easier to access, easier to hold, stories are more easy to grab and buying these digital books are certainly much much more cheaper.

However, I certainly still prefer a real, living, physical book. I still prefer beautiful cream coloured pages in comparison to white pixels in the screen with sharp black text. I find myself focusing better on a physical page of a book, rather than a digital one that I just tend to scan over the words. I love holding a book, being able to read it in any position I want (and trust, I’ve read books in many crazy positions!) and smelling the beautiful musty scent of the pages. Stories are just not the same on a screen.

Now, I’m not telling you that reading a digital book is terrible, you should be ashamed and destroy your kindle or whatever device you use to read digital books, I’m just saying that if you’re the type of person to read everything on a screen, maybe take a break. Remember those weird objects that you can open? That has thin leaves of some kind, with some printed text on them? Yeah, try picking that up. Try picking up a real book and flipping through. Try to touch a book. Try to remember.

About everburningcinders

So so...where to start? Well, for starters, I can say that I'm one of those kinds of people that don't care about their hair, or desperately need another pair of shoes. In fact, if you see me, you wouldn't notice me at all. I'm just the shadow, sticking to the walls, head buried in a book or eyes glazed over in a daydream. I want to be listened to and I want to be appreciated. My moral in life: Life is life. Believe in it and suck it up. I look forward to meetin' ya all!
Image | This entry was posted in Discussions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please let me know what you think ;)

