Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta

Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta

Finnikin of the Rock is a 2009 young adult fantasy novel, the first book of the Lumatere series, and is a definite must read. About a boy named Finnikin, who along with his guardian, have not travelled back to their home, a fallen kingdom, for ten years. A mysterious young woman, by the name of Evanjalin, claims and voices a hope, that the heir of the shadowed kingdom is, indeed, alive. Believing it all too good to be true, Finnikin scorns and mocks her, thinking her delusional. However, affected by her hope and her rock hard belief, he follows her back into the gates of the Lumatere, which have been closed for a decade.

This beautiful story has so many twists and shockers, it embraces the harshness of life, with a setting of a diseased land and abused men, woman and children. It is hard to be captivated by the story at the very beginning, like all novels set in a fantasy kingdom, all the names of the kings are confusing and like all people, I tend to skip through the maps in the first few pages of the book which result in me having no ideas of the names of the countries and languages in the rest of the novel. Granted though, once you’ve read through the first couple of chapters, names become familiar and a twisted plot becomes clearer.

Finnikin of the Rock is a very good read for all young adult genre fans, I sincerely recommend it for at least a try. Looking forward to reading the rest of the series! 🙂

About everburningcinders

So so...where to start? Well, for starters, I can say that I'm one of those kinds of people that don't care about their hair, or desperately need another pair of shoes. In fact, if you see me, you wouldn't notice me at all. I'm just the shadow, sticking to the walls, head buried in a book or eyes glazed over in a daydream. I want to be listened to and I want to be appreciated. My moral in life: Life is life. Believe in it and suck it up. I look forward to meetin' ya all!
Image | This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please let me know what you think ;)

