Potpourri of the mind

So, recently I’ve been reading this poetry book, Potpourri of the Mind. I’ve read poetry books before but this book was different. All the poems were in limerick style. I was entranced by how if I just read some words aloud, it would just flow out and create magic. The book isn’t well-known or famous but it is beautiful. Below is a sample poem for you to enjoy:

Fall of the Leaves

In the autumn before winter’s freeze,

Leaves change and fall down from the trees;

Is that why they call

This season the fall?

Fall in love with the colour one sees.

 

It starts variations of green,

Then yellow and gold will be seen;

A delicate red,

A multi-hued spread,

Shot through with a nice tangerine.

 

It’s the peak, then the winds blow,

Colours drift to the grass down below;

A day with rain’s sound,

Leaves cover the ground,

Soon we come to the end of the show.

 

There’s a payment we all have to make,

And it comes in the form of a rake;

The leaves a damp mat,

Refusing to scat,

The more trees, the more time it will take.

 

Then you still have to deal with the gutters,

The leaves that are still wedged behind shutters;

Using a blower,

A vacuum or mower,

If they’re hard to start, you hear mutters.

 

Thanksgiving arrives in November,

Leaves lie in the woods by December;

You will then recall,

The colours of fall,

It’s a season you love to remember.

Is it not beautiful?

About everburningcinders

So so...where to start? Well, for starters, I can say that I'm one of those kinds of people that don't care about their hair, or desperately need another pair of shoes. In fact, if you see me, you wouldn't notice me at all. I'm just the shadow, sticking to the walls, head buried in a book or eyes glazed over in a daydream. I want to be listened to and I want to be appreciated. My moral in life: Life is life. Believe in it and suck it up. I look forward to meetin' ya all!
Image | This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Please let me know what you think ;)

