“Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking.” -Albert Einstein

So, this is my first post and to be honest, I am scared. I mean, people can actually read this. Wow. As you can see from the title, I love reading.

First, there was the picture book era. That came and hung around for quite a few years and lingered. I started school and learnt how to read my very first words. How proud I was! I went out shopping with my mum a weekend after I first started my second year. Although only capable of reading only a few words, I insisted to my mum on buying a beautiful hardcover book; ‘Beauty and the Beast’. Oh yeah. Sitting in the trolley, I opened the book and proceeded to read it to my mum. The only problem was I knew about 5 words in the whole entire book. No matter. I simply reinvented the story, using the pictures on the pages as a guideline. So what if my story didn’t exactly match the words? No one was being picky.

After I could finally read simple sentences fluently, I decided to reread all my picture books again, just to understand them properly this time. After rereading all my books again, I admitted it was time to move on. And hence forth came the ‘Go Girl’ period. Oh man, I was obsessed. The series were just so cool. I bought a massive collection, more than twenty of them, and I still have them in my room. After I stopped reading the Go Girl series (I was in year 4 then), I wandered around a bit, read a little mystery, adventure, the usual. And then, boom! I didn’t know what hit me in year 5. I was turned into an instant potterhead. I read all seven of the Harry Potter books, then reread them again and again. I watched the movies and admitted the books were much better. Along with Harry Potter, I also read Deltora Quest. I was in heaven.

After reading these two series, I wandered a bit more, and then dived headfirst into the classics in year 6. Black Beauty, Little Women, Anne of Green Gables, I read them all. True, I did not probably understand some of it but I still read them and loved it. After I entered high school, I became immersed with the young adult genre. I started to understand things as I read the books and they made me smile, cry, laugh and weep. Some of my favourites included The Raven Boys, The Scorpio Races, Graceling, Divergent and Throne of Glass. Now, I’m still a hard fan of the young adult genre but I’m also opening myself up to reading poetry and other genres. On this blog, you will travel with me on my journey of self-discovery through an escape route known as reading. It is very nice to meet you.

About everburningcinders

So so...where to start? Well, for starters, I can say that I'm one of those kinds of people that don't care about their hair, or desperately need another pair of shoes. In fact, if you see me, you wouldn't notice me at all. I'm just the shadow, sticking to the walls, head buried in a book or eyes glazed over in a daydream. I want to be listened to and I want to be appreciated. My moral in life: Life is life. Believe in it and suck it up. I look forward to meetin' ya all!
Image | This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Please let me know what you think ;)

